The Winter Dew Tour has announced their 2011-12 theme song will be smash hit “The Sound of Winter” by multi-platinum rock band BUSH. The Winter Dew Tour features the world’s top freeskiers and snowboarders competing in superpipe and slopestyle, collecting top podium finishes over the season’s three stops to win the Dew Cup. With its driving beat and strong emotion,“The Sound of Winter” perfectly captures the feel of heavy competition and will serve as a fitting musical backdrop to the efforts of athletes as they push the limits of gravity with technical expertise on the mountain.

Opening and closing each NBC broadcast of this season’s Winter Dew Tour, “The Sound of Winter” will be featured in 25 broadcast hours, giving the contests an audible frame for a large live audience. The Dew Tour’s overseas broadcast partners will also use the song, reaching 54 countries around the globe.

The complete 2011-12 Winter Dew Tour schedule is as follows:

Event Date Location
Nike Open Dec. 15-18 Breckenridge, Colo.
Winter Dew Tour at Killington Jan. 19-22 Killington Resort – Killington, Vt.
Toyota Championships Feb. 9-12 Snowbasin Resort – Ogden,Utah

Entering its fourth year, the top athletes in the world will take part in the 2011-12 Winter Dew Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded at season’s end to champions in each of the eight disciplines. The 2010-11 Dew Cup champions include Louie Vito (men’s snowboard superpipe), Kelly Clark (women’s snowboard superpipe), Torstein Horgmo (men’s snowboard slopestyle), Jamie Anderson (women’s snowboard slopestyle), Kevin Rolland (ski superpipe) and Bobby Brown (ski slopestyle).The Winter Dew Tour continues its commitment to progression in action sports, with premier superpipes and the highest level slopestyle courses. In addition to a weekend of contests, each stop will feature an interactive Festival Village and musical guests.